Thursday, June 18, 2015

Blogisode #1: Craze About Crit Partners with A.G. Howard and Bethany Crandell




If you saw my announcement post about Blogisodes, then you know that June's chat is going to be titled The Craze About Crit Partners, and the two authors (And critique partners!) who will be joining me for a live-show are A.G. Howard and Bethany Crandell. 

I wanted to go ahead and let you guys know that we have a date and time! The live-show will be held THIS Saturday, June 20th, at 4pm Eastern/3pm Central/2pm Mountain/1pm Pacific. I give you all three times because I am terrible at converting time differences and maybe some of you are like me and don't want to struggle with figuring it out. So. There you go.









We'll be talking about all kinds of things related to both of their books, and the main topic of focus is going to be critique partners. Bethany and Anita will give us the in-s and out-s of critting, answer my questions as well as your questions, and maybe, juuuust maybe, I can convince them to play a fun game.

Here's the link to the live-show host.  Let me know if you'll be watching! I'm super excited for this event, and I hope that you guys are as well. 

DON'T FORGET:

If you want to submit any questions before the show starts, or even as it's going on, there are a few ways you can do that. 

1.) You can comment below.
2.) You can Tweet, using #CrazeAboutCritPs.
3.) You can Like my page on Facebook and comment on the link to this post.

If you tweet, BE SURE to use the hashtag, or else we won't see your questions.

Did I leave out the part about a giveaway?

I thought something was missing ;)

During the show, I'll be giving away a copy of Bethany's book, Summer On The Short Bus, as well as a pre-order of Anita's upcoming release, Untamed! You definitely don't want to miss either of these, and here's your chance to win them both!

To enter to win these books, all you have to do is RSVP to the show. The winner will be drawn  and announced during the giveaway.

Alright, I'm going to go and get the last few things set up for Saturday. You guys be thinking on your questions, and don't forget to RSVP!

Tuesday, June 16, 2015

Cover Reveal: Until We Meet Again by Renee Collins




Sourcebooks Fire and Renee Collins are coming out with a novel this November that is unlike any YA story I've ever heard of, and I'm lucky enough to get to participate in the cover reveal!


Until We Met Again is described as "The Time Traveler’s Wife for teens, and meets 1920s glamour that’s perfect for fans of The Great Gatsby and Bright Young Things." And it's definitely on my radar. This one has me extremely intrigued...

Summary:
They exist in two different centuries, but their love defies time.
Cassandra is a headstrong teenager craving drama and adventure, so the last thing she wants is to spend her summer marooned with her mother and new stepfather in a snooty Massachusetts shore town. But when a dreamy stranger named Lawrence shows up on their private beach claiming it’s his own—and that the year is 1925—she is swept into a mystery a hundred years in the making.

As she searches for answers in the present, Cassandra discovers a truth that puts their growing love—and Lawrence’s life—in jeopardy. Desperate to save him, Cassandra must find a way to change history—or risk losing Lawrence forever.

Goodreads Link:



Author Bio:

Renee Collins grew up on a beach in Hawaii. Sadly, she never met anyone from the past on those shores, but she did go on to get a degree in History, which is almost the same.



Website: 



So, should I show you the cover?




Yeah?





Okay...





Here we go.....







Gorgeous, right? 

I can't wait to get my hands on this one!

Sourcebooks has a giveaway going on for UNTIL WE MEET AGAIN! If you'd like to be entered for a chance to win an ARC of this title, all you have to do is RT my Cover Reveal Tweet, and you're in!

Here's the link to that tweet:

https://twitter.com/doodlesreviews/status/610841856402833408

Good luck!



Friday, June 12, 2015

Book Review: Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs


     I've had MISS PEREGRINE'S for a while now, and I knew that a lot of people liked it, but I kept putting off actually reading it. I finally picked it up, and was expecting to love it, but I just... couldn't connect with it.
     Here's the GR description: 

     "A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

     A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive."

    I finished the book within a day, because I have this problem in that once I start a book, I'm unable to put the book down. It bothers me that the book will be unfinished. Unless the book has made me uncomfortable, I'll finish it. Which is what I did, but I just did not love this book. I found the plot to be a bit... odd, and the story seemed highly unbelievable to me. I give MISS P a one star review, but maybe it was just me, because I know that there are a ton of you out there who adore this book!

Friday, June 5, 2015

Review: ENCORE TO AN EMPTY ROOM by Kevin Emerson


     After finishing EXILE last summer, I was having a hard time waiting for ENCORE TO AN EMPTY ROOM to come out. I was fortunate enough to meet Kevin Emerson last fall at LitConf, and of course I told him how much I loved his book, and he was kind enough to send me an ARC of book two later that year. I was absolutely stoked to crack into it, and book two did not disappoint.
     After finding the first tape from Eli, Dangerheart is walking on a tightrope. There are more tapes out there-- or so they hope-- but juggling school, gigs, finding the tapes, and an offer they might not be able to refuse may be too much for even a group like themselves. Not to mention, Summer is struggling with college decisions, her parents wanting something for her that she's not sure she wants herself, and she finds herself between a rock and a hard place. She must choose-- Music, finding Eli's lost tapes, and Caleb... or college, and building a life for herself.
     A fantastic sequel, ENCORE explores so much of the band life that I was left (Once again) wishing that I, too, were in a band. It's the perfect mash-up of music, romance, and mystery, and I definitely hold this one high on my rec list. I give it a four star review, and sincerely hop ethat you guys will check it out!

Monday, June 1, 2015

It's Summertime, Baby!

     

     June first has always been the beginning of summer, to me. School usually ends by then, the sun has come out to play, and shorts and tank tops become the popular attire. It's a beautiful time of the year, everyone relaxing and enjoying the time outside, going on vacations and hitting the beach. And of course, those of us who read NEVER go anywhere without a book.
     
     Keeping this in mind, I've had the pleasure of talking to some of the most FANTASTIC authors in the publishing world, and together, we've come up with something pretty special.
    
      How about a Summertime Giveaway?!
     
     All of the books featured in this giveaway are based on/during summer, and they can be yours! I have reviews up for most, if not all, of these books, and I encourage you to check those posts out or head over to Goodreads if you'd like to see what they're about!

The books we have up for grabs are:

     SUMMER ON THE SHORT BUS by Bethany Crandell

     LET'S GET LOST by Adi Alsaid

    THE SECRET DIAMOND SISTERS by Michelle Madow

    NIL by Lynne Matson

    CROW'S REST (And necklace!) by Angelica R. Jackson

COMPULSION by Martina Boone


a Rafflecopter giveaway
  GOOD LUCK!

Subscribe by Email